Gucci Spring Summer Collection 2012

Never has the drop waist dress looked so fabulous…

Gucci SS 2012

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

When people who work in fashion ask me who my favourite fashion designer is, I always say Balmain or Azzedine Alaia, however, the truth is it’s Gucci. It always has been and as long as the likes of Tom Ford and Frida Giannini are behind the design it probably always will be. I say Balmain because Gucci sounds so cliche. There was a time when everybody and their neighbour owned a Gucci wallet, Gucci trainers or a Gucci bucket bag and I should know because I happen to own all three, so I say Balmain to sound a little bit more fashion savvy.

I hold Gucci very dear to my heart, it has sentimental value. My first pair of designer shoes and my first designer handbag were Gucci. Gucci made me fall in love with high fashion and since this love affair began a Gucci collection has never failed to have my heart beat racing and always inspires my wardrobe choices. The Spring Summer 2012 Gucci collection is especially special to me as it is clearly inspired by my absolute favourite era, the Roaring Twenties.

Nicole Phelps at Style.com mentions The Great Gatsby in her Gucci catwalk report, which naturally excites me even more so. The collection features a gorgeous new take on drop waist dresses that literally make me want to go back in time to live that infamous Jack Clayton Great Gatsby party scene, dressed in one of those mirror embroidered drop waist dresses. Amidst the shimmering dresses are a myriad of statement jackets, some with frog latches, some with art deco prints and others inspired by equestrian dress. The collection is a stunning, typically Gucci glamorous and powerful one that will definitely inspire the wardrobes of those of us who work hard but like to party even harder.

2 Comments

Filed under Catwalk, Dandizette Trail, Fashion, Uncategorized

2 responses to “Gucci Spring Summer Collection 2012

  1. Pingback: ‘On the Verge of Acute’ by Jason Kibbler | Vogue Russia October 2011 | piecesnmelodies | Art, Fashion & Photography

  2. Pingback: Gucci a/w 2012-13: The New Direction… | Charms of a Dandizette

Leave a Reply

