Bangles BoJangles

Wrist Divertissement…

…and Bangles in  Bojangles fashion…

WRIST OF THE DAY<br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br />
The clang of metal bracelets is music to our ears.

I somehow acquired the name of Bojangles a few years back as I would insist on clanging about my life with heavy bangles adorning my wrists right up to my elbows! I took the inspiration from J-Lo‘s video Get Right (I am now pausing my funky house playlist to search my I-tunes for the Get Right track). A friend and I would laze around my parents’ front room watching MTV for endless hours, pausing, replaying and admriring the bangles that J-Lo showed off whilst gyrating herself on the bar in this particular video. The day our student loans landed in our accounts we headed to Selfridges costume jewellery department and bought an insurmountable number of bangles, sufficient enough to bangle ourselves up to our armpits total J-Lo style. For years it became my thing to wear bangles and if the blouse in question didn’t reveal my bangle collection creeping up my arms, then I simply wouldn’t wear said blouse! That’s how I acclaimed the name Bojangles!

I just had a quick look up of who or what Bojangles actually is. Aside from it being a famous American Chicken and Biscuits place, Bojangles was also the alias of a deep and dark prisoner who had been arrested in conjunction with a high profile murder case in the sixties. He shared a prison cell with singer Jerry Jeff Walker, who wrote the song Mr Bojangles. The song was isnpired by a moment whilst Walker and Bojangles were sharing the cell with a group of other prisoners, sharing stories and speaking on all kinds of subjects. Finally Bojangles told a story about his dog. The story turned out to be a pretty sinister tale, turning the mood in the cell dark. When asked to change the subject and lighten the mood, Bojangles took it upon himself to perform a little tap dance in the middle of the cell! (I just found this little anecdote so absolutely hilarious I had to share it!)

Indeed, my bangle obsession may have been my own tap dance to divert the attention away from my limited wardrobe fund whilst at uni! Today my approach to costume jewellery adornement more resembles Olivia Palermo as opposed to the ‘pile up as much as I can, wherever I can and make as much noice as possible’ approach. But the aesthetic I am truly seeking to achieve, but am still yet to master, belongs to the fashion set that we see so often photographed by the Sartorialist or Tommy Ton (my absolute favourite street style photographer)…

To create perfect wrist divertissement…

My favourite wrist diverissement below…I just love it!WRIST OF THE DAY<br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br />
The clang of metal bracelets is music to our ears.

Check out Sincerely Jules and LuLu Frost for perfect wrist swag!

Leave a comment

Filed under Fashion, Style, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

