#Trending – Pastels and Peplums

My first Polyvore set

Stella McCartney peplum top
$525 – net-a-porter.com

H m jacket
£25 – hm.com

Nobody jeans
£175 – farfetch.com

Studded shoes
$56 – topshop.com

As much as I’m loving the new pastels and poptastic coloured skinny jeans, there must be strategy applied when wearing – particularly for those of us that aren’t fortunate enough to adorn ourselves without thinking about our body shape.

I have recently developed hips and an ass, because I am not so keen on looking bootylicious, the brightest colour I will ever wear will always be on my top half. This isn’t to say that those with curves can’t sport the bright colour skinny jeans trend that’s going to be all the rage once spring actually kicks in. But I would make sure the colour of the jeans are stark and without any fading, distressing or anything that causes the eye to focus on the hips or upper thigh, ie zips or studs (usually the largest part of the leg). I have chosen this cobalt blue as opposed to a paler blue to make the legs look thinner. The peplum is perfect to draw attention to the waist, whilst the pop pink jacket completes the whole colour blocking trend.

I am a particular fan of the peplum, for its ability to hide and accentuate, but also because they just look so great. The magazines seem to be documenting the peplum as a work wardrobe essential, but I beg to differ. The way I’ve incorporated this Stella McCartney peplum top in jersey is a nice way to wear the peplum casually.

I am so getting that pink H and M jacket!

Be charmed, stay inspired! x

1 Comment

Filed under Fashion, Style

One response to “#Trending – Pastels and Peplums

  1. Ally S.

    Great price for a blazer that’s right on trend! Love it!!!

Leave a Reply

